This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is mayor-craig-stough.jpg
Mayor Craig Stough

Americanism Program
On Feb. 24, I had the privilege of attending the annual “Americanism Program” at the Joseph W. Diehn Post 468 of the American Legion. The program was to honor their Americanism and Government Test winners and essay winners. We also heard from the 2018 Buckeye Boys State and Girls State delegates about their experiences from sessions last summer.
The Post has been sponsoring these competitions for over fifty years and I have enjoyed attending many of them over the last quarter of a century, even speaking at a few. This year the speaker was Mary Westphal, president of Sylvania City Council, who spoke about the need for civil discourse and consensus building and the ways to successfully go about it, as she does at city council.

Joseph W. Diehn

A contingent of the Northview High School Band, under the direction of Nathan Heath, was present and played patriotic tunes. Adam Fineske, Sylvania Schools Superintendent, and Shannon Szyperski, Sylvania Board of Education member, were also in attendance to help honor the student winners.
Of interest to us all is that the American Legion is celebrating its centennial this year, having been established in 1919 following World War I. The Sylvania Post was established the following year on Nov. 29, 1920, and named to honor Joseph W. Diehn, the first soldier from the Sylvania area to die in that war.
The Joseph W. Diehn Post first met and had offices in downtown Sylvania. After a few moves, they built a new hall at 5580 Centennial Road in 1976 and continue to meet there today. The Post has over 500 members. The Post hall offers regular activities for their members and the community, including patriotic gatherings like the annual “Americanism Program.” Their hall is also available to rent for special activities and receptions.

Back Row, L-R: Joe Cafferty, Post 468 Commander, Shannon Szyperski, board member, Sylvania Schools, Maxwell Kelso, essay winner, Northview, Dr. Adam Fineske, superintendent, Sylvania Schools, James Duwve, second place scholarship winner, Northview and 2018 Buckeye Boys State delegate, Jakob Harshman, essay winner, Southview, Alex Clarkson, assistant principal, Southview, Evelyn Navarre, Auxiliary #468 president. Front Row, L-R: Lydia Applin, 2018 Buckeye Girls State delegate, Sheridan Scott, 2018 Buckeye Girls State delegate, Kristin Andrews, first place scholarship winner, Southview.
Not Pictured: Essay Winners Grant Perry, Northview, Megan Peng, Southview, 2018 Buckeye Boys State Delegate Vijay Singh, 2018 Buckeye Girls State Delegates Maya Huffman and Grace Jung.