by Sylvania AdVantage Staff
PUBLICATION DATE: April 02, 2019

The Lyle family

The Sylvania Schools Foundation has a tradition of recognizing a person or organization that is a supporting partner in the academic achievements, activities and programs for the Sylvania Schools students and staff with the Legacy Award. The award is given at the annual Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame dinner March 15.
Well-known for his competitive personality, his devotion to the educational advancement of youth is less known. Lyle teaches students from all walks of life about the intricacies and nuances of trial practice. After nine years of successfully coaching UT and BGSU mock trial teams, including three top-five national finishes, in 1994, he started the Sylvania Southview Mock Trial program in hopes of one day coaching his own children.
In 1995, he started the Sylvania Southview Mock Trial program. Over the last 24 years, Southview has won seven state championships including 2018; four top ten finishes at the US National Mock Trial Championship and in 2013-2014 the team won the world championship.
Along with his wife, Vicki, they spend countless hours with the Mock Trial team members. Their philosophy for success lies in a simple creed: fear no one, respect everyone.
He has been the recipient of the state Coach of the Year award, Lucas County community service award, Sylvania Schools Educator of the year volunteer and in 2018 the Toledo Bar Association’s Community Service award.
The 28th Annual Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame hosted by the Sylvania Schools Foundation was held at Highland Meadows Golf Club on March 15. In attendance were teachers, retired teachers, administrators, former Hall of Fame recipients, community members, the honorees and their family and guests.
The four alumni toured their alma maters and spoke to several classrooms the morning before the banquet. A luncheon was held in their honor at the Maplewood Elementary Media Center.
The evening at Highland Meadows started with a reception at 6 pm followed by dinner and awards at 7 pm. The inducted alumni are leaders in their fields and have made great impacts in their communities. They accepted their induction by sharing memories of Sylvania Schools and recalling the teachers who made an impact on their lives.
Along with the inducted alumni, the foundation recognized Sara Badiuk, the 2018 Educator of the Year, who shared her perspective as a teacher. Denny Lyle was the Legacy Award winner.
Hall of Fame inductees included Tom R. Helberg, Northview High School, Class of 1977, Matt Kripke Southview High School, Class of 1986, Eric Kripke, Southview High School, Class of 1992 and Dr. Saumitra Thakur, Southview High School, Class of 2007.
The student winners for the Kathleen A Babiak Award for Volunteerism were Jeremy Davis, Southview, and Amar Ifetiha, Northview.
Chrys Peterson served as emcee and Nadia Swade was the 2019 chairperson for the event. She is a retired teacher from Sylvania Schools and longtime board member on the Foundation.
The Southview string quartet played during the reception and kindergarten through 12th grade artwork from the Superintendent’s Art Show was on display.
The Sylvania Schools Foundation accepts nominations throughout the year. Forms can be found on the Sylvania Schools website.